BBC Radio 1

The one for new music
British radio stations

Listen to BBC Radio 1

You can hear BBC Radio 1 on DAB Digital Radio, FM, Freesat, Freeview (UK), Radioplayer UK, Virgin Media and online

Facts and stats

BBC Radio 1 is a British national radio station owned and operated by the BBC. It specialises in modern popular music and current chart hits throughout the day. Radio 1 provides alternative genres at night, including electronica, dance, hip hop and indie.

It was launched in 1967 to meet the demand for pop music generated by offshore pirate radio stations.

The BBC claim that Radio 1 targets the 15–29 age group.

Editorial areaUK
FormatTop 40
Most playedRAYE feat. 070 Shake, SZA, Tiësto & Tate McRaeRadiomonitor
Launched30 September 1967
Former names1FM

Contact BBC Radio 1

Postal addressBBC Broadcasting House
Portland Place
+44 20 8743 8000
+44 370 010 0100
Official website

Social media

Twitter@BBCR1 (3,031,003 followers) compare
Twitter: Newsdesk@BBCNewsbeat (149,062 followers) compare
Twitter: Press Office@bbcpress (210,981 followers) compare
Twitter: Jobs@BBCCareers (130,730 followers) compare
FacebookBBC Radio 1 (2,943,583 likes) compare
Data is from 2019. Feature awaiting Facebook re-authorisation.
Instagrambbcradio1 (704,988 followers) compare
SoundCloudbbcradio1 (0 followers) compare

Latest news stories

BBC Radio 1’s Sound of 2023 longlist revealed
RadioToday - published 5 December 2022, 12.01am gmt
Adele Roberts reveals cancer free status via social media
RadioToday - published 27 June 2022, 6.16pm bst
BBC Radio 1 to dedicate a full day to Drag Queens
RadioToday - published 12 August 2021, 9.41am bst
BBC Radio 1 to give young people a Minute of Me
RadioToday - published 14 October 2020, 9.45am bst
Radio 1 to showcase new presenters over Christmas again
RadioToday - published 3 September 2020, 10.11am bst


Abbie McCarthy Assistant Producer
Adele Roberts Presenter
Aled Haydn Jones Head of Station
Alex Rogers Assistant Producer
Annie Nightingale Presenter
Arielle Free Presenter
Brett Spencer Head of Digital
Charlie Hedges Presenter
Chris Sawyer Producer, Greg James
Chris Price Head of Music
Clara Amfo Presenter
Dan Hudson Assistant Producer
Dan Morris Senior Technical Producer
Daniel P Carter Presenter
Danni Diston Presenter
Danny Howard Presenter
Dean McCullough Presenter
DJ Target Presenter
Eleanor Roper Journalist
Emlyn Dodd Producer, Drivetime
Folamour Presenter
Gemma Bradley Presenter
Greg James Presenter
Jack Saunders Presenter
Jacob Rickard Producer
Jeremiah Asiamah Presenter
Jordan North Presenter
Katie Boden Producer
Katie Thistleton Presenter
Matt Fincham Music Editor
Matt Fisher Producer
Matt Edmondson Presenter
Melvin Odoom Presenter
Mollie King Presenter
Nan Davies Producer
Or:la Presenter
Pete Tong Presenter
Phil Stocker Producer
Rachel Jones Producer, Breakfast Show
René LaVice Presenter
Rickie Haywood-Williams Presenter
Sarah Story Presenter
Sian Eleri Presenter
Stuart Sandeman Presenter
Tiffany Calver Presenter
Vick Hope Presenter
Victoria Jane Presenter

…at BBC

Alistair Tyne Engineer
Amol Rajan Media Editor
Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson Non-Executive Director
Bob Shennan Group Managing Director
Charlotte Moore Chief Content Officer
Chris Roberts Project Engineer
Dame Elan Closs Stephens Member for Wales
Deborah Turness CEO of News and Current Affairs
Gautam Rangarajan Group Director of Strategy and Performance
Glyn Isherwood Chief Operating Officer (2)
Helen Boaden Director of BBC Radio
Ian Hargreaves Non-Executive Director
June Sarpong Director of Creative Diversity
Ken MacQuarrie Director of Nations & Regions
Kerris Bright Chief Customer Officer
Leigh Tavaziva Chief Operating Officer
Richard Sharp Chairman
Robbie Gibb Member for England
Shirley Garrood Non-Executive Director
Sir Nicholas Serota Senior Independent Director
Steve Morrison Member for Scotland
Tim Davie Director General
Tom Fussell CEO - BBC Studios

Can you help update this entry?

Do you know this radio station’s mobile app details? Please add it to our directory.

Other information

BBC Radio 1 logo archive

Get a BBC Radio 1 logo for your VW car radio

Can we help?

How can I listen to BBC Radio 1?

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to James Edward Lee M, Dom S, Tomas McDermott (, Dylan B, Gabriel G, Dan M, Chris S, Alex R, Talia K, Jacob R, George B, Andrew G, Martin P and James C for their edits on this page. See the changelog, or edit it yourself.