BBC News

The BBC News channel
British television channels

Watch BBC News

Watch BBC News on BBC iPlayer, Freesat, Freeview (UK), Sky and TVPlayer

Facts and stats

BBC News, also known as the BBC News channel is the BBC's 24-hour domestic rolling news television network for the United Kingdom.

The channel airs rolling news, topical debate, documentaries, interviews and sports bulletins with some programming shared with BBC One or BBC World News.

Editorial areaUK
Launched9 November 1997
Former namesBBC News 24
Viewing figures:Weekly top 10BARB

Contact BBC News

Postal addressBBC Broadcasting House
Telephone+44 20 8743 8000
Official website

Social media

Twitter@BBCNews (14,985,322 followers) compare
Twitter: Press Office@bbcpress (210,930 followers) compare
Twitter: Jobs@BBCCareers (130,738 followers) compare
FacebookBBC News Channel (13,885 likes) compare
Data is from 2019. Feature awaiting Facebook re-authorisation.

Latest news stories

Publicis scoop four Lions for Heineken - published 29 June 2022, 12.36pm bst
Belfast Live reaches new heights six years on - published 26 February 2021, 10.10am gmt
BBC News sets out update on modernisation plans
BBC Media Centre - published 15 July 2020, 2.15pm bst


Abi Smitton Journalist BBC Breakfast
Alex Homer Journalist
Alice Baxter Presenter
Alistair Burnett Senior News Editor
Amol Rajan Media Editor
Anisa Kadri Journalist
Anna Collinson Journalist
Annita McVeigh Presenter
Azi Farni Sports Presenter
Babita Sharma Presenter
Ben Thompson Journalist
Ben Brown Presenter
Carol Kirkwood Presenter
Catharina Moh BBC Click Reporter
Catrin Nye Journalist
Chris Rogers Presenter
Chris Mason Political Editor
Clive Myrie Presenter
Dan Johnson Journalist
Deborah Turness CEO
Divya Talwar Journalist
Emily Maitlis Presenter
Emma Vardy Correspondent
Gary O'Donoghue Journalist
Gavin Esler Presenter
George Alagiah Presenter
Hannah Bayman Journalist
Holly Hamilton Journalist
Holly Jones Journalist
Hugh Woozencroft Sports Presenter
Huw Edwards Presenter
Jane Hill Presenter
Jane Dougall Sport Presenter
Jean Mackenzie Journalist
Jim Reed Journalist
Joanna Gosling Presenter
Jon Sopel Presenter
Jonty Osborne Producer and Media Technologist
Julian Worricker Presenter
Kasia Madera Presenter
Kate Kinsella Weather forecaster
Katherine Downes Sports Presenter
Katie Alston Senior Producer Victoria Derbyshire
Katie Alston Journalist
Leila Nathoo Journalist
Lucy Manning Special Correspondent
Lukwesa Burak Presenter
Maria McCann Journalist BBC Newsline NI
Mark Easton Journalist
Marta Newman Journalist
Maryam Moshiri Journalist
Matt Harris Producer BBC Newsnight
Mike Embley Presenter
Monika Plaha Journalist BBC Breakfast
Naga Munchetty Presenter
Nicholas Owen Presenter
Nick Miller Presenter
Nick Sutton Editor BBC News Website
Nick Higham Journalist
Nicola Beckford Journalist
Nina Warhurst Business Presenter, Breakfast
Noel Phillips Journalist
Rachel Schofield Presenter
Rebecca Jones Presenter
Rebecca Morelle Science Correspondent
Rhaya Barton Journalist - BBC Breakfast
Richard Frediani Editor, Breakfast
Rico Hizon Presenter
Rory Cellan-Jones Journalist
Ros Atkins Presenter
Ross Hawkins Journalist
Sally Nugent Presenter
Sally Bundock Presenter
Sam Taylor Programme Director
Sam Singh Journalist
Sarah Stone Presenter
Sarah Campbell Journalist
Sarah Corker Business Correspondent
Saskia Edwards Journalist
Sean Johnson Journalist
Sharanjit Leyl Presenter
Smitha Mundasad Journalist
Sonja Jessup Journalist BBC London
Sophie Long Presenter
Sophie Raworth Presenter
Tanya Beckett Presenter
Tim Willcox Presenter
Tom Hourigan Journalist
Torin Douglas Journalist
Victoria Valentine Presenter
Victoria Derbyshire Presenter
Vishala Sri-Pathma Business Journalist

…at BBC

Alistair Tyne Engineer
Amol Rajan Media Editor
Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson Non-Executive Director
Bob Shennan Group Managing Director
Charlotte Moore Chief Content Officer
Chris Roberts Project Engineer
Dame Elan Closs Stephens Member for Wales
Deborah Turness CEO of News and Current Affairs
Gautam Rangarajan Group Director of Strategy and Performance
Glyn Isherwood Chief Operating Officer (2)
Helen Boaden Director of BBC Radio
Ian Hargreaves Non-Executive Director
June Sarpong Director of Creative Diversity
Ken MacQuarrie Director of Nations & Regions
Kerris Bright Chief Customer Officer
Leigh Tavaziva Chief Operating Officer
Richard Sharp Chairman
Robbie Gibb Member for England
Shirley Garrood Non-Executive Director
Sir Nicholas Serota Senior Independent Director
Steve Morrison Member for Scotland
Tim Davie Director General
Tom Fussell CEO - BBC Studios

Can you help update this entry?

Do you know this television channel’s mobile app details? Please add it to our directory.

Other information

BBC News logo archive

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to Tomas McDermott (, hongmei h, Renato F, Martin P, Graeme M and James C for their edits on this page. See the changelog, or edit it yourself.