BBC Four

Everybody needs a place to think (daily from 7.00pm)
British television channels

Watch BBC Four

Watch BBC Four on BBC iPlayer, Freesat, Freeview (UK), TVPlayer and Virgin Media

Facts and stats

BBC Four is a British television channel operated by the British Broadcasting Corporation.

The channel shows a wide variety of highbrow programmes including drama, documentaries, music, international film, original programmes, comedy and current affairs.

Editorial areaUK
Launched2 March 2002
Former namesBBC Knowledge
Viewing figures:Weekly top 10BARB

Contact BBC Four

Postal addressBBC Broadcasting House
Telephone+44 20 8743 8000
Official website

Social media

Twitter: Press Office@bbcpress (215,092 followers) compare
Twitter: Jobs@BBCCareers (129,439 followers) compare
Twitter@BBC (2,235,246 followers) compare

Latest news stories

BBC Four bares all for Life Drawing Live!
BBC Media Centre - published 30 December 2019, 10.00am gmt
BBC Four acquires Norwegian drama Wisting
BBC Media Centre - published 11 October 2019, 9.30am bst
BBC Four re-opens the Harold Shipman files
BBC Media Centre - published 12 August 2019, 10.07am bst
BBC Four announces new programmes that celebrate British diversity
BBC Media Centre - published 13 January 2019, 10.00am gmt


Cassian Harrison Programme Director
Janice Hadlow Programme Director

…at BBC

Amol Rajan Media Editor
Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson Non-Executive Director
Beth Parsons Broadcast Journalist, BBC Look North Yorkshire
Bob Shennan Group Managing Director
Charlotte Moore Chief Content Officer
Chris Roberts Project Engineer
Dame Elan Closs Stephens Member for Wales
Deborah Turness CEO of News and Current Affairs
Gautam Rangarajan Group Director of Strategy and Performance
Glyn Isherwood Chief Operating Officer (2)
Helen Boaden Director of BBC Radio
Ian Hargreaves Non-Executive Director
June Sarpong Director of Creative Diversity
Ken MacQuarrie Director of Nations & Regions
Kerris Bright Chief Customer Officer
Leigh Tavaziva Chief Operating Officer
Richard Sharp Chairman
Robbie Gibb Member for England
Shirley Garrood Non-Executive Director
Sir Nicholas Serota Senior Independent Director
Steve Morrison Member for Scotland
Tim Davie Director General
Tom Fussell CEO - BBC Studios
Tom Glenwright Producer

Can you help update this entry?

Do you know this television channel’s mobile app details? Please add it to our directory.

Other information

BBC Four logo archive

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to Tomas McDermott (, Martin P and James C for their edits on this page. See the changelog, or edit it yourself.